Home > Research > Funding > Research Award > Faculty Research Awards

Faculty Research Awards

The Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine has established the Faculty Research Awards to honor faculty and staff for who have outstanding achievements and contributions to research in the school.

There are two categories of awards:

A. Outstanding Researcher Award / Young Researcher Award

The Outstanding Researcher Award was launched in 2002. These awards are given out annually to recognize outstanding staff achievement and contributions in the last academic year.


Past Awardees


Year Faculty Outstanding Researcher Award

Faculty Outstanding Researcher Award

(Young Researcher Category)

2011 Barry Halliwell Veronique Angeli
2010 Markus Wenk Chng Wee Joo
2009 Wong Tien Yin Markus Wenk
2008 Yap Hui Kim Koh Woon Puay
2007 Bay Boon Huat Alirio Jose Melendez Romero
2006 Lee Eng Hin

Ang Pek Kiang Leonard

Yang Hongyuan Robert


Marie Veronique Clement and Shazib Pervaiz

Yong Eu Leong

Matthew Whiteman
2004 Gopalakrishnakone Wong Tien Yin

Loke Kah Yin

Shazib Pervaiz




B. Research Excellence Awards

The award recognizes staff members for their continued excellence and leadership in research over their years of service in the School of Medicine.


Past Awardees


Year Research Excellence Award

Donald Tan

Deng Lih Wen

Gautam Sethi


Charanjit Kaur

Chia Kee Seng

Michael Kemeny


Aung Tin

Evelyn Koay

Hanry Yu

Saw Seang Mei

Wong Tsun Hon Peter

Yeoh Khay Guan


Manuel Salto-Tellez

Markus Wenk

Ong Choon Nam

Paul MacAry

Yeoh Eng Juh Allen


Chong Yap Seng

Shen Han-ming

Soong Tuck Wah


Chan Soh Ha

Ling Eng Ang


Ariff Bongso

Barry Halliwell

Yap Hui Kim


Nomination Process

Faculty Outstanding Researcher Award/Young Researcher Award

The Faculty Outstanding Researcher Award/Young Research Award is usually given to SoM's nominee(s) submitted for the University Research Award in that year.

Faculty Research Excellence Award

3-5 researchers are usually selected by NUHS Research Award Committee each year.


Contact Us


Ms Sherline Tay Tel:  6772 3713 Email: medtgss@nus.edu.sg